State Education Requirements


AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

Great news all states have now adopted the Uniform State Test (UST)

NMLS State Specific Education

New Developments for 2019

Existing or previous licensees, the requirements for reinstating or adding additional state licenses are changing this year: Some states are passing laws and regulations presently that will require the 20 hour prelicensing course to have been taken in the most recent three (3) years to qualify for a new license, a few states have had this for years, almost all of the rest are expected to adopt a similar requirement this year!

Alabama

Visit Alabama page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education, including 3 hours of federal laws, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Alabama does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, or 2016, 2017, or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Alabama MLO CE Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Alabama are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Alaska

Visit Alaska Page for Details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education, including 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Alaska does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Alaska are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Arizona

Visit Arizona Page for More Information

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education, including 3 hours of training related to federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 8 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of AZ law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/8/+ 4hrs of AZ law = 20

Arizona has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific laws which may be satisfied by either taking an AZ comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of AZ state-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of AZ law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Arkansas

Visit Arkansas Page for Details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Arkansas does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Arkansas are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

California – Dept. of Business Oversight (DBO)

Click Here for California Page with Details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives),+ 2 hours of CA-DBO law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/ + 2hrs of CA-DBO law = 20

California – DBO has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific laws which may be satisfied by either taking a CA-DBO comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of CA-DBO specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of agency law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with CA-DOC are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

California – Bureau of Real Estate (BRE)

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

CA-BRE does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013,2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2016YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2016and I was approved for an initial license in 2016am I required to complete CE in 2016No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with CA-DRE are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Colorado

Colorado Page for More Information

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives),+ 2 hours of CO law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/ + 2hrs of CO law = 20 

Colorado has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific laws which may be satisfied by either taking a CO comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of CO specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of CO law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Colorado are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time. 

Connecticut

More Information on Connecticut Mortgage Loan Originator MLO Licensing 

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 1 hour of CT law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/ + 1hr of CT law = 21

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.

Connecticut has a requirement for 1 hour of instruction on state-specific laws which may be satisfied by either taking a CT comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course. 

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of CT education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of CT law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Connecticut are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Delaware

Click Here for More Delaware MLO Licensing Information

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Delaware does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 1, 2018.  However, MLOs in Delaware are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS.

MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal prior to expiration of license.

District of Columbia

Visit Washington DC Page for MLO Licensing

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of DC law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of DC law = 20

DC has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a DC comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of DC-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of DC law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is November 1, 2018.  However, MLOs in DC are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Florida

Florida MLO Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 2 hours of Florida statute and regulation related training, plus 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/2/10 = 20

** Update: Effective January 1, 2017 Florida accepts the Uniform State Test (UST) imposes 2 hour of Florida state specific prelicensure education (PE)

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of education on Florida specific laws and regulations (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

**Update: Beginning in 2017 and effective for 2018 renewals, Florida licensees now need to complete 8 hours of CE annually with one (1) hour included on Florida state specific laws and regulations.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Florida are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Georgia

Loan Officer Licensing Page for Georgia MLO

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Georgia does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of GA-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of GA law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 0r 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is October 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Georgia are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS,MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on Note: GA will assess a $100 late fee outside of NMLS if CE is completed after October 31.

Guam

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Guam does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Guam are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on

Hawaii

Hawaii Mortgage Loan Originator MLO Licensing Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of HI Law = 20

Hawaii has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a HI comprehensive course or a statenspecific elective course.   Upon completion of the pre-licensing education, an individual has up to twelve months to submit an application for licensure as a mortgage loan originator.  An individual who submits an application after the twelve months have expired will be required to repeat the prelicensing education requirements.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of HI-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2 + 1hr of HI law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014,  2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Hawaii are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Idaho

Click here to go to Idaho MLO licensing page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed must complete NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 2 hours of ID law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/+ 2hrs of ID law = 20

Idaho has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking an ID comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of ID-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of ID law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 1, 2018.  However, MLOs in Idaho are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Illinois

Mortgage Loan Officer Loan Originator MLO Illinois Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state–approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours ethics, 2 hours traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Illinois does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Illinois are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Indiana – DFI

Click here for Indiana Mortgage Loan Originator MLO Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of nmls approved education. The training includes 3 hours of federal laws, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).   Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.

Indiana-DFI does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with Indiana-DFI are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Indiana – SOS

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state licensees must complete NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours -traditional mortgage lending, plus 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 2 hours of IN law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/+ 2hrs of IN law = 20

Indiana-SOS has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on IN-SOS specific law which may be satisfied by either taking an IN comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with Indiana-SOS are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Iowa

Visit Iowa MLO Licensing Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education including 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives). Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.

Iowa does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 1, 2018.  However, MLOs in Iowa are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Kansas

Click to go to Kansas Mortgage Loan Officer or Originator Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLO must complete NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non -traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Kansas does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014,  2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 1, 2016.  However, MLOs in Kansas are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Kentucky

Kentucky Processors and MLO Education Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. The education includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Kentucky does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 1 hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective), plus 1 hours of KY-specific*. Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 + 1hrs of KY law = 8

*MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of CE every year; the requirement to take is 1 hours of KY-specific law is every year.

Kentucky Mortgage Loan Processors must complete 8 hours of continuing education annually, including 1 hour of KY law.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015. 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is November 30, 2018.  However, MLOs in Kentucky are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time. 

Louisiana

Mortgage Loan Originator MLO Education Information, Click Here

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Louisiana does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Maine

Maine MLO Education for Loan Officer Licensing, Click Here

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS       approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Maine does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Maine are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Maryland

Maryland Page for MLO Education and Licensing

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 7 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 5 hours of MD law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/7/+ 5hrs of MD law = 20

Maryland has a requirement for 5 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a MD comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every MD Mortgage Lender licensee (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the first year of licensure (the chart below is NOT applicable to the Mortgage Lender licensee).  The individual listed as the Qualifying Individual (on the MU1) must satisfy the CE requirement for the MU1 location and the individual listed as the Branch Manager (on the MU3) must satisfy the CE requirements for the MU3 location.   Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of MD-specific education (referred to as an elective).  Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of MD law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, both Mortgage Lender Licensees and MLOs in Maryland are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, licensees are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Massachusetts

MA Mortgage Loan Originator Education Page for Massachusetts MLO Licensing

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of MA law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of MA law = 20

Massachusetts has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a MA comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of MA-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of MA law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Massachusetts are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Michigan

Michigan MLO Click Here for MI Loan Originator Education Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10 + 2hr MI = 20

MI has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a MI comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Michigan are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Minnesota *adopted UST effective 8/1/18

MN MLO Page, Click Here for Minnesota Mortgage Loan Originator MLO Education 

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS       approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Minnesota does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Minnesota are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Mississippi

Mississippi Loan Officer Education Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/8/+ 4hrs of MS law = 20

Mississippi has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law (MS S.A.F.E Mortgage Act) which may be satisfied by either taking a MS comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 3 hours of electives, plus 2 hours of MS-specific education (MS SAFE Act of 2009). Number of hours is 3/2/2/3 + 2hrs of MS law = 12

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Mississippi are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Missouri

Click Here to MO Missouri Mortgage Loan Originator MLO Education Page

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Missouri does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of MO-specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ plus 1hr of MO law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Montana

MT Mortgage Loan Originator Montana Loan Officer Education Page

Pre-licensing education

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10 + 2hrs of MT law = 20 

Montana has requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a MT comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

 Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1= 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Montana are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Nebraska

Go to Nebraska Mortgage Loan Originator Page for NE Loan Officer Education

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/+ 2hrs NE law = 22

NE has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NE comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Nebraska are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Nevada 

Visit Nevada page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 30 hours of NMLS hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, 18 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of NV law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/18/+ 4hrs of NV law = 30

Nevada has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NV comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 3 hours of NV specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 3hrs of NV law = 10

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Nevada are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time. 

New Hampshire

Visit New Hampshire page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state licensees need 20 hours of approved education. Training includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 2 hours of NH law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10 + 2hrs of NH law = 20

New Hampshire has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NH comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline 

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in New Hampshire are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

New Jersey

Visit New Jersey page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs and Qualified Individuals are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 8 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of NJ law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/8/+ 4hrs of NJ law = 20

New Jersey has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a comprehensive NJ course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 3 hours of electives, plus 2 hours of NJ-specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/3 + 2hrs of NJ law = 12

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

 CE Deadline 

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs and Qualified Individuals in New Jersey are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs and Qualified Individuals are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

New Mexico

Visit New Mexico page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs and Qualified Individuals are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of NM law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of NM law = 20

New Mexico has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NM comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of NMspecific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 1hr of NM law = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in New Mexico are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.           

New York

Visit New York page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of NY law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of NY law = 20

New York has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NY comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 1 hour of elective, plus 3 hours of NY-specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 + 3hr of NY law =11

Note: NY-DFI will not accept any hours of other state-specific education to count towards the 1 hour of elective.  MLOs are advised to complete either an 11 hour NY Comprehensive course or an 8 hour Comprehensive course and a 3 hour NY elective course.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in New York are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

North Carolina

Visit North Carolina page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 24 hours of NMLS approved course. The training includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of NC law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/+ 4hrs of NC law = 24

North Carolina has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NC comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of NCspecific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of NC law =8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in North Carolina are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

North Dakota

Visit North Dakota page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

North Dakota does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in North Dakota are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Ohio 

Visit Ohio page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 24* hours of NMLS approved education. The training includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of OH OMBA law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/+ 4hrs of OH law = 24

Ohio has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking an OH comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Note: Only applicants under OMBA must take the additional 4hrs of education.  OMLA applicants only require 20 hours.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of elective. Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline 

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Oklahoma

Visit Oklahoma page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education, 3 hours on federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/11+ 1 Hour of OK Law = 20

Oklahoma has a requirement for 1 hour of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking an OK comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Oklahoma are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Oregon

Visit Oregon page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 8 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4hrs of OR law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/8 + 4 hrs of OR law = 20

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.
Oregon has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking an OR comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour elective +    2 hours of OR – specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/3 = 10

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

CE Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Oregon are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Pennsylvania

Visit Pennsylvania page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of PA law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of PA law = 20

Pennsylvania has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a PA comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of PAspecific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of PA law =8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Pennsylvania are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Puerto Rico

Visit Puerto Rico page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Puerto Rico does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 1, 2018.  However, MLOs in Puerto Rico are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Rhode Island

Visit Rhode Island page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 3 hours of RI law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/9/+ 3hrs of RI law = 20

Rhode Island has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a RI comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of RIspecific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of RI law =8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Rhode Island are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

South Carolina – BFI

Visit South Carolina page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 3 hours south carolina law plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/3/9 = 20

South Carolina-BFI does have a 3 hour state law requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of SC law education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with South Carolina-BFI are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

South Carolina – DCA

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS       approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 3 hours SC law, plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/3/9 = 20

South Carolina-DCA does have a 3 hour SC law requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of SC law education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with South Carolina-DCA are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

South Dakota

Visit South Dakota page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS       approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

South Dakota does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in South Dakota are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Tennessee

Visit Tennessee page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 2 hours state specific law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/+ 2hrs of TN law = 20

TN has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a TN comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.   .

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Tennessee are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Texas – OCCC

Visit Texas page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS  approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Texas-OCCC does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application. (law passed by Texas legislature, rules expected to support 3 year requirement immediately)

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with Texas-OCCC are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Texas – SML

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 23 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).    Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 + 3hrs of TX-SML law = 23

TX-SM has a requirement for 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a TX comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application. (law passed by Texas legislature, rules expected to support 3 year requirement immediately)

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with Texas-SML are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Utah – DFI

Visit Utah page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Utah-DFI does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs with Utah-DFI are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Utah – DRE

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. NMLS approved education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

UT-DRE also has an additional requirement of 15 hours of UT-DRE approved instruction.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective) plus 2 hour Utah-approved specific annual update course. Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 + 2hr UT annual update course = 10 NOTE: Effective 2018, MLOs licensed by UT-DRE after May 8, 2017, are required to complete a 5hr post-licensure course. This is in addition to the 10 hours of annual CE already required for MLOs (8hrs + 2hrs of UT-specific). The 5 hr post-licensure course is for MLOs licensed by UT-DRE from May 8th 2017 to December 31, 2017 and is required to be completed by October 21, 2018.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 15, 2018.  However, MLOs with Utah-DRE are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Vermont

Visit Vermont page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education including 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/+ 2hrs of VT law = 20

VT has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a VT comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application. VT has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a VT comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 1, 2018.  However, MLOs in Vermont are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.  

Virgin Islands

Visit Virgin Islands page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

The Virgin Islands does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Continuing Education CE Renewal Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in the Virgin Islands are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Virginia

Visit Virginia page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Virginia does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Virginia are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Washington

Visit Washington page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of WA law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/10/+ 4hrs of WA law = 22

Washington has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a WA comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending,1 hour of elective, plus 1 hour of WA-specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 + 1hr of WA law =9

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 15, 2018.  However, MLOs in Washington are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

West Virginia

Visit West Virgina page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 22 hours of NMLS approved education. The training includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 2 hours of WV law.  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/+ 4hrs of WV law = 24

West Virginia has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a WV comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of WV specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/+ 2hr of WV law =9

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is November 30, 2018.  However, MLOs in West Virginia are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Wisconsin

Visit Wisconsin page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education and training. The courses include 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Wisconsin does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Wisconsin are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Wyoming

Visit Wyoming page for more details

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education including 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Wyoming does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law. 

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 or 2017and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2018and I was approved for an initial license in 2018am I required to complete CE in 2018No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2018.  However, MLOs in Wyoming are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

[r]

=i

[r]

||function(){ (i

[r]

.q=i

[r]

.q||[]).push(arguments)},i

[r]

.l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’https://www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-79002005-1’, ‘auto’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’); // ]]>

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC