South Carolina


South Carolina – BFI

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

**Update South Carolina has enacted a new 3 hour prelicensure course requirement our course #7273 fulfills this requirement!

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20

Click to Get the South Carolina 20 Hour Course Bundle with a SAFE 20 Hour course, Test Preparation Package AND the 3 Hour SC SAFE PE Course

SC Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Requirements

Get the NMLS Approved South Carolina CE Course

**effective 2018 for 2019 license renewals 1 hour South Carolina state specific NMLS continuing education requirement included with the total of 8 hours continuing education!

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of SC related law training (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

South Carolina enacted state specific CE requirement in 2017 effective for courses taken in 2018 for the 2019 license renewal.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, or 2015, 2016and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, or 2016, 2017am I required to complete CE in 2017YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2017and I was approved for an initial license in 2017am I required to complete CE in 2017No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2017.  However, MLOs with South Carolina-BFI are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

South Carolina – DCA MLO Prelicensing Education Requirements

**Update South Carolina has enacted a new 3 hour prelicensure course requirement our course #7273 fulfills this requirement!

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators must complete 20 hours of NMLS  approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 3 hours South Carolina mortgage related law training, plus 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).  Number of hours is 3/3/2/3/9 = 20

South Carolina enacted a 3 hour state specific PE requirement in 2017.

MLO Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).  Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

South Carolina enacted state specific CE requirement in 2017 effective for courses taken in 2018 for the 2019 license renewal.

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator.  PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,

2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, or 2015

and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, or 2016am I required to complete CE in 2016YES
If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2016and I was approved for an initial license in 2016am I required to complete CE in 2016No

Deadline

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2017.  However, MLOs with South Carolina-DCA are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE.  Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Complete this form to get group pricing, coupon codes, or a customized training quote!

Your Name (required)

Your Company Name (preferred)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone

Preferred Contact Method

Your Message Including Desired Training Details, Number of Participants, Timing, Format, Requested Price Structure