Chitragupt Pandey Top

National SAFE 8 and 7 Hour CE

Comprehensive CE courses to meet the federal SAFE act minimum requirements, some states require additional training on state specific law topics to meet that state’s CE requirements. Core courses are included in this category, if your state requires state specific courses in addition to the 7 core hours, choose a 7 hour core course and the state specific course you need to complete your state(s) specific requirements. If you do not see our course, go to our contact us page and ask for assistance.

Continuing Education Requirements

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) requires that state-licensed mortgage loan originators (MLOs) complete annual continuing education. In order to meet continuing education requirements state-licensed MLOs must complete 8 hours of NMLS approved education which include the following:

For annual continuing education, the SAFE Act requires state-licensed MLOs to complete:

a. Three hours of Federal law and regulations;
b. Two hours of ethics that shall include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues;
c. Two hours of training related to lending standards for the nontraditional mortgage product market; and
d. One hour of undefined instruction on mortgage origination.

While the SAFE Act requires NMLS to approve pre-licensure and continuing education courses, it is individual state law that compels mortgage loan originators to take the pre-licensure and continuing education as a requirement for state licensure. Many state agencies require that pre-licensure education be complete prior to submitting an application through NMLS. NMLS provides information concerning education requirements and administers the process for completing it, but state-licensed MLO’s should refer to their state agencies regarding the specific details associated with meeting the education requirements.

Showing all 8 results