Colorado Prelicensure Education
New originators license applicants, we have a 3 step process to enable a passing score on your first attempt for the NMLS exam, so you can quickly and efficiently begin your new career. Colorado has a 20 hour prelicense requirement with 2 hours required on CO law.
1. Choose the NMLS Approved Colorado 20 Hour Comprehensive Course Bundle with Test Preparation and Colorado 2 Hour Law Courses Included and at checkout enter your start date and your desired schedule length in days for the 20 hour course, options range from 2 days to a maximum of 14 days. Complete the 20 hour prelicense course.
2. Use our included test preparation program that includes a host of resources, most learners need 1-3 weeks of test prep, then pass the NMLS exam.
3. Complete the CO 2 hour course after passing the exam, since the National exam does NOT test you on Colorado law.
Showing all 5 results
2 Hour CO SAFE Colorado Online State Law PE NMLS Approved #10535
$59.99Add to cart
20 Hour CO SAFE Colorado Online State Law PE Comprehensive Course Bundle with Test Preparation
$459.99Add to cart
20 Hour SAFE Comprehensive PE Online Instructor Led (OIL) Custom ScheduleFrom: $399.00 Read more
20 Hour SAFE Comprehensive PE Webinar Classroom Equivalent #6129
$499.00Add to cart
20 Hour SAFE Comprehensive PE Classroom NMLS Approved #6130$999.00 Add to cart
Prelicensure Education and Testing Requirements:
If you already have an MLO license, skip to “State Specific Requirements” below. Generally new mortgage loan originator license applicants meet the three following steps.
- Complete a SAFE 20 Hour Course, nearly 75% of new licensees complete the online version for cost and convenience reasons, with the remaining completing the course in a webinar with mandatory set hours and times to meet online at the same time with your instructor and other students, or a classroom where both instructor and student are present.
- Prepare for and pass the NMLS national Component Exam with Uniform State Test (UST). Nearly 50% of test takers fail on their first attempt, but you can make certain that doesn’t happen to you as our course includes a powerful and effective test preparation component with unlimited use and instructor access until you pass, click the course(s) below to discover more.
- Meet the state specific education and or testing requirements for your desired state(s). Many but not all states have a state specific education requirement, if you need a course NOT listed above, complete the form on the bottom of the page and we will refer you to an affiliated school who has the course.
National Continuing Education Requirements
Licensed mortgage loan originators need to complete 8 hours of annual continuing education every year, except for the year of original prelicensure education (PE). Courses must contain the following hours as a minimum.
- Three (3) hour on Federal Law
- Two (2) hours on nontraditional mortgage products.
- Two (2) hours on fraud, consumer protection and ethics.
- One (1) hour elective content.
Some states require more than 8 hours or require the one (1) hour elective content to be on state specific law. All originators need to start meeting the CE requirement by taking a
- 8 hour comprehensive course or
- 7 hour core course, then as necessary add their state specific courses.
See the “State Specific Requirements” at the top of the page to discover what course(s) if any, you need for your state(s). If you do not see your needed course, complete the form on the bottom of the page and we will send you a link for your course.
Sample video of a course chapter, training coupon code information request form found by scrolling down
Training Information Request
Complete this form to:
- Get a course link sent to you not listed above
- See a free course preview of your needed course(s),
- To request a classroom, webinar or customized training session for either prelicensure education (PE) or continuing education (CE),
- To request a NMLS education plan,
- To place a coupon code request.