North Carolina Prelicensure Bundle 24 Hour SAFE 20Hr Federal+ 4Hr NC Law + Test Prep
North Carolina SAFE 24 Hour NMLS Comprehensive Course Bundle
SAFE 20 Online Instructor Led (OIL) course #6125 plus North Carolina 4 Hour Prelicensure course #11302 Online Self Study OSS
$469.99Add to cart
North Carolina 11219 4 Hour NC SAFE: North Carolina State Law Online Self Study OSS
NMLS Approved 11219 – 4 Hour NC SAFE: North Carolina State Law
Prelicense Course Online Self Study (OSS)
This professionally narrated course opens for student access as fast as you can…
$129.99Add to cart
North Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator Prelicensing Education Requirements
New applicants as a NC MLO licensee are required to complete 24 hours of NMLS-approved education.
This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending,
12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 4 hours of NC law. Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/+ 4hrs of NC law = 24
North Carolina has a requirement for 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a NC comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.
Note: PE must be completed within 3 years of a new or subsequent license application.
North Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Requirements
Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 1 hour of NC specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of NC law =8
|Am I required to take Continuing Education this year?|
|If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2009,
2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, or 2015
|and I was licensed in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, or 2016||am I required to complete CE in 2016||YES|
|If I completed SAFE Act PE in 2016||and I was approved for an initial license in 2016||am I required to complete CE in 2016||No|
MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.
The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2016. However, MLOs in New York are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.