Connecticut Mortgage Loan Originator Prelicensing Education and Continuing Education Requirements
Connecticut 21 Hour Prelicensing Education Bundle with Test Prep and Connecticut 1 Hour Law
Connecticut 21 Hour Comprehensive Course Bundle with Test Prep Included and 1 hour CT law
SAFE 20 Online Instructor Led (OIL) course #6125 plus Test Preparation Covering the National Component…
$449.99Add to cart
Connecticut Online PE Self Study Law Education NMLS Approved 12686 1 Hour CT SAFE: 1 Hour CT SAFE
NMLS Approved 1 Hour CT SAFE: 1 Hour CT SAFE Connecticut Online PE Self Study Law Education Prelicense Course Online Self Study (OSS)
This professionally narrated course opens for student…
$49.99Add to cart
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) your course completion record is posted on the NMLS, you pay for the exam and schedule the exam through the NMLS, and after successfully passing your NMLS exam on your first attempt using our extremely comprehensive and effective test preparation program you apply for all licenses and renewals on the NMLS.
Do you have your NMLS number yet?
If you have not done so already, it takes 1 -2 minutes to get your NMLS number.
Click “Request an account”
We try to make all of these things easier, what questions may we answer? Use the chat feature on the bottom right corner of every web page to get answers now!
Connecticut Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Checklist
Connecticut (CT) Mortgage Loan Originator Prelicensing Education Requirements
New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives). Number of hours is 3/3/2/12/ + 1hr of state law = 21
Effective 10/1/14 CT will require 1 hours of instruction on agency-specific law which may be satisfied by either taking a CT comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.
Connecticut MLO Continuing Education Requirements
Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of state law = 8
Effective 1/1/15 CT will require 1 hours of instruction on CT law which may be satisfied by either taking a CT comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.
MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator. PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.
Connecticut Mortgage Loan Originator and Mortgage Company Licensing Agency
Regulator: Connecticut Department of Banking
Address: 260 Constitution Plaza Hartford CT 06103
Phone: (860) 240-8299
Fax: (860) 240-8167
Connecticut Department of Banking
Consumer Credit Division
260 Constitution Plaza
Hartford, CT 06103-1800
Telephone: (860) 240-8200 or toll-free 800-831-7225
Fax: (860) 240-8215
WHO TO CONTACT – Contact Richard Cortes by phone at 860-240-8138 or send your questions via e-mail to Richard.Cortes@ct.gov for additional assistance.