California


**Welcome to AAA Mortgage Training California PE and CE information page, click the links to get your California MLO PE and CE courses. In order gain licensure, a prospective California Mortgage Loan Originator  completes the CA MLO PE and CE requirements as described by the licensing body of the employer, either through the CA-DBO or CA-DRE as described below.

CA-DBO Mortgage Loan Originator Prelicensing Requirements

California DBO (Department of Business Oversight) requires that new state-licensed MLO’s complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of undefined elective education plus 2 hours of CA-DB0 state-specific law.

California BRE (Bureau of Real Estate) requires that new state-licensed MLOs complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education meeting the same requirements mentioned above. CA BRE does not have a state-specific education requirement.

CA-DBO MLO Continuing Education Requirements

California DBO: Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of CA-DBO specific education (referred to as an elective).

California BRE MLO Prelicensure Education

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined (referred to as an elective).

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives). Number of hours is 3/3/2/12 = 20 CA-BRE does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law. Continuing Education Requirements Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year).

CA BRE Continuing Education

Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8 MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. MLO’s are advised not to retake pre-licensure education (PE) unless directed to by a State Regulator. PE education does not count towards meeting annual CE requirements.

CA-DBO Live Classroom SAFE NMLS Training  or Coupon Code Request

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone (required)

Course Needed

Number of Participants

Describe the training event you want to hold, preferred dates, location and any other relevant information to help us craft the best solution to meet your needs

The form sends even if the in progress icon continues to spin